Women Who Reign: Jothi Ramaswamy

Reinvented Magazine
5 min readApr 27, 2017

“You don’t have time to be timid. You must be bold and daring.”
– Lumière, Beauty and the Beast

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I am a sophomore at Lakeland High School in NY and a strong advocate for bridging the gender gap in technology. Through my 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization, ThinkSTEAM, I have partnered with several major corporations and organizations (including IBM, SWE, PepsiCo, Barnes & Noble, Columbia University, Facebook, etc.) to conduct hands on technology workshops and a STEM mentoring program for K-12 girls. As a STEAM aficionado, my goal is to use STEM and the arts to inspire young girls to become the leaders of tomorrow. I am also a part of the Girls Inc.’s Girls Leadership Council, where I get to meet other girls in Westchester who have the same passions as I do to combat issues in my community. As a part of the Science Honors program at Columbia University, I enjoy taking courses related to machine learning and graph theory. In addition, I am a member of my school’s Science Research Program, Chamber Orchestra, Varsity Debate Team, and Varsity Track & Field Team. I also have received achievements in NYSSMA level 6 for the violin.

A fun fact about myself is that goat cheese and cruise dinners do not go well together. #notforme

--

--